War!

Discussion in 'Story Feedback' started by Nevermore, Jan 12, 2022.

1. Nevermore

Nevermore Virgin

https://chyoa.com/story/War!.41260

Just here to create a place to comment. I am a noob writer after all.
    While I enjoy the writing, I feel like I am bumbling around like a fool.
    The story is not set in stone, far from it, but I do have a general direction where I want to go.
    Just curious how you are thinking about story so far.
    Keep it constructive though, as I am a frail and tender person.

2. Dissonant Soundtrack

Dissonant Soundtrack Really Really Experienced

You're a talented writer, and a slow burn is difficult to pull off. So I'll offer some thoughts in that vein :). I read about 8 chapters of the story, through "Oh my"

First, I think you did a good job building the world, but I admit that I got lost a bit as to where the writer actually was both physically and temporally. In the introduction, it says that the POV character survived the war and this is his story, then you pivot to his diary which implies to me that he's writing it after the fact. Then, in the first paragraph of his diary, he is both unsure whether he will survive and whether the Americans will enter the war - so it jumps back to his perspective during the war. But when? A few chapters later he mentions that the Americans are fighting in Europe, so are the diary entries meant to be written at separate times? At some point, the writer appears to be describing things that are presently happening, but I wasn't clear when the shift from "We're reading his diary" to "We're following him in real-time" was meant to happen. During the chapter "Innocence"? I think that could be made clearer.

Second, I don't feel like I have a good idea of what the characters are like. The situation you've set up is so chaotic (They're grabbing random people off the street and shoving them to the front) that it would interesting to get more background on what their situations were.