Allow users the option of being open for collaboration with other users, in the stitches {chapters} that they write.
That option would flag our handle to appear 'green' instead of the default blue. This would passively allow people who read a stitch/chapter a way to know if the author is open to collaboration with other users.
Or maybe add this option with stitch {Chapter/post} creation/editing. That is the screen that pops up after we click the link...
This option could play out such as say [Chapter 13 by
2p1k3] instead appears as [Chapter 13 by
2p1k3].
Another author chooses to a [chapter 14 ...]; Then 2p1k3, me, or someone else continues with a [Chapter 15 2p1k3/...]; et cetera.
Each stitch {chapter} continuing the story arch of the overall thread.
As for why this is more helpful than as it is? Ever notice how many one or two stitch branches there are in almost every open weave {story}? Telepathy and empathy is currently beyond my skill set. Therefore, knowing if an author is open to 'collaboration' with a stitch will help me decide to contribute to the overall weave {story} or not, at least would be helpful to me, think do I. Given the prevalence of one-to-three stitch branches written by other users, this desire may be shared by more than me. Or maybe there are multiple desires it helps satisfy more harmoniously.
Thank you for sharing your time and Force; May you ask the Goddess to eternally alight your path.
[edit]
After some thought the better option may be to add this as an option on the [* Add a New Chapter] page. The difference allows users the ability to set what specific stitches {chapters/posts} the author has a want to be open for collaboration.
[/edit]