Can i finish chapters from former members

I am editor of a story along with some one. That person appears to have delete their accounts since the chapters they posted no longer list an author and the stories they made are gone. The story i am editing i see several chapters that were started and saved but never completed and never will be due to the author left the site. Would it alright if I go in and edit and finish those chapters?
 
Which story?

Unsure on that. Personally if I abandoned a chapter I'd potentially not want someone else to complete it. But that's just me. Maybe state within the chapter you completed it?
 
If they're no longer active, but still have an account, I wouldn't mess with their chapters. But if they've deleted their account, then I'd say yes, go ahead.
 
The story i am editing i see several chapters that were started and saved but never completed and never will be due to the author left the site. Would it alright if I go in and edit and finish those chapters?
If you think that those chapters are worthy of completion, what stops you from posting the completed version while keeping the originals in the limbo? You can credit the original author for the part that is theirs without destroying anything.
 
If you think that those chapters are worthy of completion, what stops you from posting the completed version while keeping the originals in the limbo? You can credit the original author for the part that is theirs without destroying anything.

This feels the most sensible approach. Publish the finished chapters under your name while giving the original author credit.
 
posting the completed version while keeping the originals in the limbo? You can credit the original author for the part that is theirs without destroying anything.
Publish the finished chapters under your name while giving the original author credit.
Posting it as your chapter doesn't give you the permission from the original owner to republish it, no matter whether you credit the original autor or not.

If it is worth keeping but not a whole chapter, I'd assume that the original author had the intention of publishing it eventually.
Thus, I'd rather edit the chapter in a way that can be assumed to be the intent of the original author. That way it is still "their" chapter. (However, if the author deleted all their content, I'd assume that they don't want their content to be published.)
If it is only half a chapter, you could cut it off and add the second half of the chapter in a new chapter that bears your name.
 
Back
Top